Listening to a Tree

Every morning before I head out for the day I take a minute to just listen, just breathe. One day this week I was drawn to look toward one of the Black Walnut Trees, like it was calling. 

I need to get myself back in touch with nature, this winter and the happenings in our world have caused a funk like I have never felt before. When the tree called that crisp morning I knew I needed to listen

I walked closer to the tree and noticed it had some shading of light and dark like I had never seen on it before. The coloration was certainly caused by a natural event either with wind or rain or snow, but the naturalist in me needed to let go of the “why” for the shading and just accept it. It was beautiful. The air was cold, my breaths came slowly and my eyes closed. It was time to just breathe. Just listen. Now I was ready to start my day, and everyday. 

“We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.” J.K.Rowling 

One thought on “Listening to a Tree

Leave a Reply

