Hunter’s Moon

Have you seen it? We have been fortunate to have some really nice clear evenings to see the Hunter’s Moon. It was so nice to walk outside in the dark after your eyes adjust to the low light. We walked up to one of the power line right of ways and there was not a cloud in the sky. Most of the photos that I have been taking for this project have been with my cell phone, but I did break out the bigger point and shoot for this one. I need a tripod for moments like this! The photos aren’t perfect and I am actually ok with that – for me it was about the experience and not about the photos.

img_2225

I don’t know much about the stars and the moon cycles so I found a few short and helpful articles to help.

From the Farmer’s Almanac – “This full Moon is often referred to as the Full Hunter’s Moon, Blood Moon, or Sanguine Moon. Many moons ago, Native Americans named this bright moon for obvious reasons. The leaves are falling from trees, the deer are fattened, and it’s time to begin storing up meat for the long winter ahead. Because the fields were traditionally reaped in late September or early October, hunters could easily see fox and other animals that come out to glean from the fallen grains. Probably because of the threat of winter looming close, the Hunter’s Moon is generally accorded with special honor, historically serving as an important feast day in both Western Europe and among many Native American tribes.”

From NPR – “At its closest point this weekend, the full moon will be 222,365 miles from Earth — on average, it’s 238,855 miles away, according to National Geographic. It will also “appear 16 percent larger than average and nearly 30 percent larger than the year’s smallest full moon.”

This kicks off three straight months of supermoons — you can also catch them on Nov. 14 and Dec. 14.

The November moon is set to be a real show-stopper: According to NASA, it is “not only the closest full moon of 2016 but also the closest full moon to date in the 21st century.” And it won’t be this close to Earth again until 2034.”

img_2207

For more nature photos follow me on Facebook or Instagram!

2 thoughts on “Hunter’s Moon

  1. Great post! I follow you on Instagram. I have a blog as well but seem to do Instagram more as of late. I really need to try to post on my blog more often! We have had many out of town guests so hard to do.
    Your photos and information here on this post are fabulous! Great job! I enjoy your photos on IG as well!
    I am @nance5210 on Instagram. I will follow you here on WordPress! Glad to know you are here! ~Nancy

    Like

Leave a Reply

